Beez Houz

DADIY: Don’t Always Do It Yourself, a cautionary brass lamp tale

IMG_6702Thanks to the interwebs and a titch of the seasonal affective mania, I found the inspiration to repurpose two dated brass lamps. Bad idea. Yeah, they’re cute now but…

Lessons I learned from repurposing a couple dated brass lamps I bought off a Facebook garage sale for 20 bucks:

1) If you buy brass lamps to repaint and re-shade, pay no more than $5 per brass lamp. Goodwill is lousy with ’em.
2) Before you buy, find lamp shades you like that will actually fit the bargain lamps. Most new lampshades are what they call “uno” fit; older lampshades are typically the harp/spider top variety. (See below.)
3) Before you buy, make sure both lamps have their switch still intact.*
4) Before you prime, make sure both lamps have their swtiches still intact.
5) Before you paint, make sure both lamps have their switch still intact.
6) Before you do any of the above, buy two new lamps at Marshalls. Or Target. You can buy a pretty decent lamp for around $25 at either of those places.

$20 2 brass lamps
$4 1 can primer
$4 1 can paint
$15 per shade (nearly impossible to find)
$4 per finial

Not to mention the $10 in gas, approximately, I burned through: a) driving to a nearby suburb to pick up the darn things, and 2) motoring around town looking for spider top lamp shades.

Eh, at least I learned a thing or two. For instance:

More about lampshades than I ever needed to know.

More about lampshades than I ever needed to know.

*To be fair, the switch could have been my fault – I’ll never know if I purchased the one with a busted switch or whether I knocked it off myself during the prep process. Either way, I’m sure the seller wasn’t trying to pull one over on me.
This entry was published on October 25, 2013 at 6:37 pm. It’s filed under DIY, Home Decor, House and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “DADIY: Don’t Always Do It Yourself, a cautionary brass lamp tale

  1. I feel like this has finally given me some meaning to the (no less than) six!! lamps sitting around my house in various states of “shadelessness.” I’m completely copying, bookmarking etc. this whole post in hopes of figuring out a way to finish a lamp one day!

Leave a Reply

